Psychological Tools

1. PTSD Checklist for DSM-5 (PCL-5): 


The gold standard for diagnosing PTSD is a structured clinical interview such as the Clinician-Administered PTSD Scale (CAPS-5). When necessary, the PCL-5 can be scored to provide a provisional PTSD diagnosis. The PCL-5 is a 20-item self-report measure that assesses the 20 DSM-5 symptoms of PTSD. The PCL-5 has a variety of purposes, including:

  • Monitoring symptom change during and after treatment
  • Screening individuals for PTSD
  • Making a provisional PTSD diagnosis

Frank W. Weathers, PhD; Brett T. Litz, PhD; Terence M. Keane, PhD; Patrick A. Palmieri, PhD; Brian P. Marx, PhD;